Advent Meditation: Week Two

This four-part meditation series savors the season of Advent through the Gospel of Luke. Luke begins his account of the arrival of Jesus by first introducing us to a cast of characters who have been waiting on God’s promise for a very long time. This series explores the theme of waiting through the characters of Zechariah, Elizabeth, Mary, and Simeon and Anna. You can read their stories in the first two chapters of Luke.

Week Two: Elizabeth

Luke 1: 5-25, 57-80

In this second practice we sit with Elizabeth who, even after decades of disappointment, still harbors a seed of hope and shows a willingness to try again and believe.

Inhale: I have this hope

Exhale: as an anchor for my soul